14 October 2022 |

Event schedule revealed for The Bend Motorsport Park

As the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS enters a frantic conclusion to its second season, The Bend Motorsport Park awaits for competitors as part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships on October 21-23.

This season has been a close battle between the Audi and Mercedes contenders, but it is a 1-2 at the top of the standings for the four-rings. On home turf, confidence will be with Yasser Shahin in his Melbourne Performance Centre Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II on his home turf as he leads Liam Talbot by 20-points.

To keep updated with the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

However, set to be a big mover in the pack as the season winds down will be the Triple Eight Race Engineering Mercedes-AMG GT3 shared by Prince Jefri Ibrahim and Shane van Gisbergen, with the recent Bathurst winner in red hot form.

A solid mover is another Mercedes-AMG of Peter Hackett and GT4 graduate Ross Poulakis, who raced commendably solo at Sandown including a fourth-place outright in the opening race.

The Am battle is expected to be tight between the RAM Motorsport Mercedes-AMG of Michael Sheargold and Garth Walden against the KFC Audis of class leaders Gary Higgon and Paul Stokell, in addition to Matt Stoupas.

Plus, not forgetting GT4 as Mark Griffith will battle the similar Mercedes-AMG GT4 of the Harrolds Racing Team.

The Bend Motorsport Park is the penultimate sprint round of the season, with the finale set for Adelaide split by a three-hour endurance race at the inaugural Supercheap Auto Bathurst International in November.

Action at The Bend Motorsport Park begins on Friday encompassing two 20-minute practice sessions at 10:20am and 2:05pm local time (10:50am and 2:35pm AEDT).

Qualifying takes place featuring the usual two-segment format for each race commencing on Saturday at 9:15am (9:45am AEDT) and the second at 9:40am (10:10am AEDT).

The opening race will start ay 2:55pm (3:25pm AEDT), while the final event of the weekend occurs on Sunday at 11:45am (12:15pm AEDT).

The last time the national GT category raced at The Bend was last year where Shahin and Garth Tander took one victory, while Brett Hobson in the fan favourite Nissan GT-R GT3 won Race 1 in mixed conditions.

Forming the program for the final round of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships at The Bend include the Radical Cup Australia, GC Marine Australian Prototype Series, Australian Production Cars brought to you by LIQUI MOLY, Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge, The Bend Classic, The Bend GT Festival and the RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship.

Coverage of the event will be broadcast on the Seven Network, make sure to check your local guides.