5 August 2022 |

Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS renews battle in Queensland

It’s Mercedes versus Audi at Queensland Raceway as Round 2 of Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS gets underway this weekend.

Audi drivers Liam Talbot and Yasser Shahin enter the round at Queensland Raceway level on points, but each will have new co-drivers for the event.

To keep updated with the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

Talbot had Chaz Mostert deputise for regular co-driver Fraser Ross, but the latter returns at Queensland Raceway alongside new major sponsor Gtechniq and additional support from Shannons Insurance.

As Talbot reunites with a fellow race winning co-driver, as does Shahin. Garth Tander returns to the category to partner the reigning series winner. The duo took The Bend Motorsport Park Audi to four wins last year on the way to Shahin scoring the title.

Tony Bates and David Reynolds finished on the podium at Phillip Island in the C-Tech Audi and should not be discounted as contenders up north.

Triple Eight Race Engineering pairing Shane van Gisbergen and Prince Jefri Ibrahim will be determined to go well at their home track as they lead Mercedes-AMG’s fortunes in Queensland.

Van Gisbergen is in rich form in the Supercars Championship and will be looking to bring some of that speed to the GT3 class this weekend.

Following its debut in a GT4 entry at Phillip Island, Harrolds Racing will step up to a Mercedes-AMG GT3 with the experienced Peter Hackett teaming with Ross Poulakis completing the Pro-Am competition.

It’s a three-car Audi attack in Am Class, headlined by class leader Matt Stoupas alongside KFC teammates Gary Higgon and Paul Stokell, while the stunning Catan example for Mark Rosser returns alongside the Koundouris brothers – James and Theo.

Audis again feature in GT Trophy with leader Brad Schumacher being joined by category debutant Micharl Kokkinos, who moves up from running in the Victorian Sports Car Championship each in older Ultras.

Scott Taylor will race his Porsche 997 GT3R to add further competition to the GT Trophy ranks.

Queensland Raceway is expected to kickstart a frantic close to the season, with this weekend’s action beginning on Friday with two 30 minute practice sessions. Qualifying consists of a pair of 20 minute segments on Saturday morning deciding pole for each race.

Two 60 minute races follow on both Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

The SpeedSeries at Queensland Raceway will feature seven racing categories and 12 hours of live and ad-break free coverage on Stan Sport across Saturday and Sunday.

The coverage will be broadcast on Stan Sport between 11am-5pm on both Saturday and Sunday.

New customers can sign up to a Stan Sport 7-day free trial. Sign up now to watch all of the SpeedSeries action, plus the IndyCar Series, World Rally and more motorsport action >>

International viewers can watch the action via

To be trackside at Queensland Raceway, CLICK HERE for tickets.


Fraser Ross

#20 Gtechniq Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II

“Liam’s leading the title so hopefully we can have some good success, last time we paired up we won the round at Bathurst last December,” said Ross.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve been to Queensland Raceway, so I’m looking forward to going there and the Audi seems to be the car to have at the moment. Every time we get it out of the truck it is always there or thereabouts and I’m looking forward to re-joining the MPC crew.”

Entry List Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS Round 2 Queensland Raceway

Car # Class Sponsor Driver Co-driver Model
1 Pro-Am The Bend Motorsport Park Yasser Shahin Garth Tander Audi R8 LMS Evo II
2 Am KFC Gary Higgon Paul Stokell Audi R8 LMS Evo II
8 GT Trophy Launch Racing Michael Kokkinos Audi R8 LMS Ultra
17 Am Catan Mark Rosser Audi R8 LMS Evo II
20 Pro-Am Gtechniq Liam Talbot Fraser Ross Audi R8 LMS Evo II
23 Am KFC Matt Stoupas Audi R8 LMS Evo II
24 Pro-Am C-Tech Laser Tony Bates David Reynolds Audi R8 LMS Evo II
47 Am Supabarn James Koundouris Theo Koundouris Audi R8 LMS Evo II
55 GT Trophy Schumacher Motorsport Brad Schumacher Audi R8 LMS Ultra
101 Pro-Am Harrolds Racing Ross Poulakis Peter Hackett Mercedes-AMG GT3
222 GT Trophy Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor Porsche GT3-R
888 Pro-Am Triple Eight Race Engineering Prince Jefri Ibrahim Shane van Gisbergen Mercedes-AMG GT3